“Anita, you should settle on one genre and stick with it. You’re all over the place.”giphy

 

Yes, this was sent to me. And NO I’m not going to listen. It’s like this…I have stories in my head, and yeah, there are authors out there who write in ONE genre and ONE genre only. They tell the same goddamned story over and over again. Insert new characters, change plot detail, chew, swallow, puke it back up, and start again. And yes, they make a shit ton of money doing that.

I have plots written down for various different stories and yep, you guessed it, they’re in different genres. I’m not a cookie cutter author and I never colored between the lines. Stories that are outlined or partially written already include: More shifters, More aliens, A Motorcycle Club Romance, Murder/Mystery/Romantic Suspense, a BDSM that is written and chilling on the back burner, and then the super secret project I’m dying to talk about. All but one is erotic. Because I’m A-NIT-A COX!

Nope, I’m not a NYT Best Seller – yet. I’ve only hit Amazon’s Top 100 twice and those were for bargains. Bookbub has turned me down countless times. But I’m not here for them. I’m here for you. I’m here for me. And maybe, I will make a few bucks in the meantime. Maybe not.

If there’s anything I’ve learned in the last decade in this business is that like assholes everyone also has an opinion. And like assholes, they usually stink.

Peace out,

Anita Cox

 

One thought on “Why don’t I settle already?

  1. You are 100% right. Tell the stories that are in your head dying to be told. I set aside a novel because another story, “The Captive,” popped into my head and fell onto the paper. I finished the novel while the new story was being edited. Both novels were published a day apart. We write what runs through our fertile minds. If the story is not in our minds, it will never be on paper. Keep doing what you know is best for you. — Tony Flye

    Like

Leave a Reply

