Writerly Woes

In March of 2015, I had to make a difficult decision and go back to work full-time. This greatly reduced my ability to write, market, blog, etc. I’m still going but at a much slower pace. Case in point, my last blog post was for Valentine’s Day. 😦

I love what I do…writing that is. It is, undeniably, my happy place. And I haven’t given up. I’m working on a story right now. I began a new series with Valkyrie, Tales of the Asgard. At the end of this month you can find me at the North Iowa Book Bash, and I’m already signed up for the Bourbon County event next year.

The publishing landscape is in a tailspin. Small publishers are closing their doors right and left. Authors are claiming that a major erotic romance publisher isn’t paying them their royalties and refuses to give the rights back.

Rosanna Leo just posted about making the hard decision for herself and her family. Rosanna has seen more success and accolades than I have, and I was almost shocked to see her backing away (not quitting, mind you! Thankfully!)

I have talked a few of my closest author friends down from the ledge. It is such a challenge to keep plugging away when sales plummet and expenses don’t. The market is so saturated with every Tom, Dick, and Harriet that think they can write. Some can…a lot can’t.

Amazon isn’t helping with their bologna either!

What can a reader do? Stick with your favorite authors. Always write reviews. Just a few short sentences saying why you liked the book is all that is needed. If you see your author post something on social media about their books, share it. That’s all. Oh, and always get your books from reputable site, and never from a pirating site.

And be patient with us as we navigate these choppy waters.

2 thoughts on “Writerly Woes

  1. Thanks so much for this kind mention, Anita. We all struggle with this business we love and the craft we love even more. I’m cheered to see I’m not alone but hate to think any of my friends have to make the same decisions. I wish you all the best on your journey. I will be watching and waiting to hear about your writing adventures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

