Ribbons of Death @EditaBoni

 

NBTM_TourBanner_RibbonsOfDeathEnter to win a copy of Mistress of Deceit – a Rafflecopter giveaway and then follow the tour for more chances to win.

Anita Cox: Welcome Edita A. Petrick!  So you write romance.  Tell us why romance?

Edita: From writer’s point of view, because it’s infinitely more difficult to write than other genres. And from “me” point of view…because my late mother loved reading romances and kept telling me, “Write a nice romance so I can read it. I don’t understand your science fiction.” 

Anita Cox: Do you write in any subgenre?

Edita:  Yep, uhm, of ‘fer sure – for me going back to grassroots is writing science fiction (albeit these days YA sci-fi) And what’s a sci-fi without mystery and suspense – and when you combine all three and throw in a pinch of romance, you get genre that’s nearly impossible to define, especially when you need to tick off only ONE category. 

AC: What is the heat level of your books?

Edita: At Ellora it used to be “Blush” – at NCP, 3-flames max.

AC: Tell us about you.  Do you have any passions other than writing?

Edita:  I’m a collector. At one time or another I used to have a rock collection, stamp collection, ink-drawings collection, pastels and water color collection and lately, of course, book collection.

Anita Cox: I know that you have a very unique hobby. Please tell us about it.

Edita:  I like to refinish old furniture. My great-grandad was a carpenter.

Anita Cox: There was a place from your past that you’ll always remember. How do the memories of it influence your life/writing (either or…take it anywhere you like)?

Edita:  In high school, grade ten I think, I had a poem published in a yearbook.  I was not a very ‘visible’ teenager so when that poem came out, I suddenly felt eyes pinning to me as I walked down the hallway, heading for my classroom. I’ll always rememberw hat it felt like – exhilarating and absolutely terrifying. 

Are most of your works available or do you have what a drawer or closet of “not quite there” work? Do you think any of those old projects will see the light of day? 

Edita:  Not a drawer-full but a boat-load – and they’re coming out, one by one. I’m determined to re-write them, dust them off, so to speak and they will be published, oh yeah, they will.

Anita Cox: What is your writing “system” like, and how has it evolved over the course of your career? 

Edita:  For years I disciplined myself – ruthlessly I’d say – and I would write 5-10 pages every day, regardless of whether I had something to say or not. That phase lasted years and I think of it as my graining grounds. Then came the phase of ‘targeted writing’ – my short stories. I wrote for zines and print magazines and submitted to anthologies.  That phase faded like all fads and I finally settled into “tightly –focused” writing. This means when I sit down to write, I know what genre I’m going to do, what the story is and how it ends. Then I write. 

Anita Cox: Do you have beta readers in your family or circle of friends, or do you trust your own instincts before you publish your works?  

Edita: No one reads my work. By now I know whether the story’s working or not. Most of them are. Once written, it goes to one of my editor-colleagues or friends and that’s it.

I found that like most writers I don’t respond well to criticism in the early stages of the ‘story.’  Once the story’s finished, grammatical overhaul is mandatory and that’s when I do nothing BUT listen.

Anita Cox: What is your most recent book/story release? And could you tell us about it? 

Edita: Hard to answer this one – “Ribbons of Death” came out February 6th from Solstice Publishing. I got some great reviews – but not enough, naturally. April 15h is the release day of my YA science fiction, The Witches of Calamora,  (Wee Creek Press) that’s on pre-order on Amazon; and May 31st is a release day of my paranormal romance thriller with political background, “The Heirloom,” From Vinspire Press.  And if powers-that-be judge me not busy enough promoting, I’m sure Eternal Press will release my new hot-romantic suspense, “Mistress of Deceit,” between now and May 31st. When it rains, it pours. And when I need rain, as in reviews, comes a drought. Never fails.

Anita Cox: What led you to tell this particular story?

Edita:  I was reading National Geographic, with articles on historical ancient sites and as I read (in the doctor’s waiting room) a story started to take shape in my head and that was that. Besides, I love archeology.  If my parents didn’t have their hearts set on engineering I’d have happily buried myself in the archives or lived on dusty digs. 

Anita Cox: Do you think of yourself as a particular type of writer and how do you think that influences the decisions you make about your stories/novels? 

Edita:  I think of myself as a ‘storyteller.’ My stories come to me when I ask: What if…? And if the story stays with me, it gets to be a book. If I lose interest in it, it gets printed out and goes in a folder and into the drawer.

Anita Cox: If you had an unlimited advertising budget, how would you “get the word out” about your latest release? 

Edita: I’d hire the publicist that Dan Brown had for The Da Vinci Code. I believe it was his wife and agent, rolled into one but hey, she was super-effective. Then again, I guess she had a much better book to work with than Brown’s previous work, “Angels and Demons.”  That one was just…a groaner. I couldn’t finish it. But “Code” was much better – it had a stronger ‘human’ element in it.  

Anita Cox: Though we have every expectation that you will live well past 125 years, when you finally find rest, what would you like your tombstone/obituary to say? 

Edita: I read this one many years ago though I’ve no idea whether it was fresh then or…ever.

“Six feet deep underground,

lies a man well renowned

A stubborn mind, a stubborn head

To prove his point he dropped dead.”

AuthorPhoto_RibbonsOfDeathBLURB:

When a horribly scarred man knocks on the door of Stella Hunter’s ramshackle cottage in upstate Montana, she lets him in. What’s there to lose? The book critics killed her chances to warn the world about myths and legends behind the myths and legends.

But once the man pushes a book smudged with bloody fingerprints across the table, Stella sees a glimmer of hope. She may yet repair her academic reputation. She may re-establish her credibility within the scientific community and she may vindicate her ‘peace-taker’ theory. She may also be murdered by anyone standing next to her if her theory is correct.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

He kept his head tucked between his shoulders, watching one ‘on-the-scene’ reporter after another give commentaries to the police and medical work that went on in the background. Suddenly he felt Stella’s hand settle on his and turned his head. She was saying something. He pulled down the earphones because he wasn’t in a lip-reading mood.

“He struck at a local fair,” she said quietly.

He remembered her saying something like that earlier, though at the time it could have been just sarcasm.

“Your prediction was right,” he said.

“Yes but it’s something else. Let me have the laptop.”

He watched her call up a map of Dayton, Ohio, then zoom in and start pointing with the mouse arrow at the names of communities mentioned by the news reporters: Oakwood, Kettering, Whites Corners.

“Here,” she said, pointing the mouse at the red line of Interstate 675. “This is where the southbound effect stopped or played out. I didn’t hear any reports of an outbreak of madness in Belmont or Shakertown. None west of Interstate 75 either. It affected a long strip about half a mile wide at best; in geographical terms certainly a ribbon of madness that ended at I-657.”

“Another atypical strike,” he murmured. They didn’t need more puzzles. They were still trying to make sense of what they had.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

By profession, I’m an engineer and ten years ago, I left a corporate job to concentrate on writing. It was perhaps the scariest thing I’ve done. Of course, there were other considerations at the time, life, kids, economy and my mother who was battling cancer. I wrote as means of staying grounded because I had to hold it together. There was no one else to pitch in. There wasn’t a single moment that I didn’t have doubts about whether what I was doing was the right thing or not, but doubts come and go, while the need to write goes on forever. Since 2005 I’ve published 5 books and this year alone I have 6 new ones coming out. I live in Toronto with my family and our two pets – wheaten terriers. And whenever I’m tempted to look back, and start second-guessing my past decisions, I sit behind the computer and start another book. At least for me, that’s a cure-all.

 

http://www.editapetrick.biz/

http://knotsinromance.blogspot.ca/

https://www.facebook.com/edita.petrick

2 thoughts on “Ribbons of Death @EditaBoni

Leave a Reply

