Human Decency

So…ignoring all of the rules for authors (again) I saw a post on Facebook and it made me a little…aggressive. Here, let me share this piece of crap with you first, so you can get an idea where I’m headed.

11008566_10153009488784376_5697334222414950991_n

We authors aren’t supposed to talk religion, politics, or anything really that might offend someone and thereby lose us potential fans. But guess what? I don’t care. I do care about losing fans. I don’t care about offending someone who thinks the above is entertaining. Because if you are entertained by this…

STOPPING! I’m stopping myself now. Because I already got angry on Facebook, but I took a moment, collected myself and said, “Self, what’s the proper way to handle this?” Well, Self had to have a smoke and sip some 1:30 a.m. coffee first. Then Self finally responded. “The responsible thing to do is offer education so that people might understand Bruce Jenner’s situation.”

I’m going to introduce you to the best and most powerful learning tool on the internet. YouTube. What? No.

YES!

Sexplanations is run by the same folks who produce Sci-Show, Mental Floss, Crash Course, and Healthcare Triage just to name a few. These are educational videos put out for free on YouTube.

Let me introduce you to Dr. Lindsey Doe, a clinical sexologist. Translation: An actual doctor is about to teach you about gender. It’s 3 minutes of your life…just watch. (And hey, she’s cute, so it should be easy.)


So, you see, gender isn’t binary. It’s not Male or Female. Wires get crossed sometimes. Belittling a human being for what and who they are is just…inhumane.

It’s not difficult to show a modicum of human decency to our fellow human beings. If you don’t understand someone, try to learn. What you learn could just knock your socks off.

And I get it. I WAS you. I grew up in a itty bitty town. I used horrible words like faggot, fairy, and some racial slurs I still wish I could scrub out of my brain. But I grew up. My world expanded. I worked in a gay friendly coffee house and exposed myself to a wonderful community of really fantastic people. I learned about them.

I can look back on my youth and KNOW that I wasn’t a bad person. I didn’t understand who my nasty little mouth affected and how. I grew and changed. I’m not ashamed of myself, I took steps to improve. I made sure I didn’t raise stupid children to say stupid things about people they didn’t know and encouraged them to have a mixed pot in their lives.

These changes…they start with you. They start with me. We all want the same thing. We all want to live free and happy. We want love. We want to surround ourselves with loved ones.

And we all bleed red.

2 thoughts on “Human Decency

Leave a Reply

