#Interview with @HoustonHavens

It’s no secret that Houston Havens and I are friends. We support each other online and comment on each other’s blogs, guest spots, and so on. A little history, Houston and I started off in the same (publishing) house. She was looking for reviews and a guest spot. I accepted and by the time I finished Sinful Surrender, I had to know this woman. Book 1 Syn Website Cover

She’s not only a phenomenal writer; she’s been a great friend and colleague. It’s rare that an author will reciprocate with marketing and such. Her sweet and naughty personality attracted me like a magnet. Now, she’ll never get rid of me. So yeah, what you’re about to read is a biased interview. I hope you enjoy!

 

Anita Cox: Houston, I’ve been pretty vocal about my obsession with your Psychic Ménage series. You hooked me with Sinful Surrender. I gobbled up Phantom Desire like a starving wild beast and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Exposed Ecstasy. I would apologize for pushing you so hard for Book 4 in your series, except I’m not sorry that I love this series.

BOOK 2 KINDLEBut I noticed not just a fantastic plot in each book, but an overall plot. Can you give my readers an idea of the overall theme and plot to this series?

Houston Havens: OMG Anita … with an introduction like that… I’m a little nervous now! Everyone will be expecting some fabulous woman with entertaining answers! *gulp* ….ok, here we go, but I have to address that awesome intro’ first! You’re right, it’s no secret you and I fit together as friends and authors like peanut butter and chocolate! The blend is YUMMY! And NEWS FLASH…I don’t want to ever ‘get rid’ of you! I adore you!

The overall theme of the series is based on technology that is in existence today. HAARP, Orgone, and Torsion Fields are all real…and there are rumors of not just the United States but other countries that have built underground cities for the elite to go to when predictions of our end; manmade or otherwise, come upon us. I took that knowledge and created the Psychic Ménage series.

I’m a TRUTH SEEKER at heart and I guess I should have been a book 3hardcore news reporter, but as we all know…news only come in the form of entertainment these days…with the real news being swept under the carpet.

So, I felt the only way to inform the public on what was really going on in our world was to blend reality into a form of fantasy. I did that by filling a gap I discovered in the erotic/erotica genre.

I found a lot of erotica was missing a basic PLOT. So, I mixed my love for romance and storytelling with my need to make people aware of the world around us with sex…sex sells and it sells well when it’s accompanied with a well told plot. I wanted to capture male readers as well as female…and I think I have by giving them a story with their sex. This is a series a wife can read to her husband and create a few hot night of her own! *wink*

HOWEVER, you know I can’t just be normal…in my storytelling…I love to braid my stories, so there are layers and layers to intrigue my readers. I have a series plot of the war between the Airbornes and the Dirt Dwellers that will find its conclusion in book seven, while each book has its own character relationships and sizzling sex plotlines. Each book finds its HEA at the end of the ‘book’s’ story.

Anita Cox: So let’s get into the nuts and bolts. How long did it take for your series plot to come together? Tell us how it came together.

Houston Havens: Believe it or not, I’d written a straight romance that dealt with this topic. So, a lot of it was already in my mind when I sat down to write this erotic-romance series. Each of the books in this series was written in 30 days…then I spent another six weeks or so polishing each book, fine-tuning the plots and characters. But, my books run about 100,000 words.

Anita Cox: Do you have any habits or rituals when you write? Me, I like to have a good strong cup of coffee.

Houston Havens: Of heavens…coffee’s a necessity isn’t’ it? Can’t imagine sitting down without that. My main habit is I have to get up and get dressed, just like those who go into an office everyday…yes, I dress for work. I’m not an author who works in a nightgown or sweats.

Anita Cox: Today’s market can make it a challenge for authors to stand out in a sea of other authors. How do you manage?

Houston Havens: OMG as best as I can…it’s all a guessing game, but in the end I feel like it all falls back on how well you as an author can show and tell your stories…all the best advertising in the world won’t help if you can’t show and tell an entertaining tale. So, newbies don’t rush your book to market until you hear your voice or you could be dumping your career as a bestselling author into the trash before you get started.

Anita Cox: You do such a fantastic job getting your reader emotionally invested in the characters, which is probably the seed to my obsession. Are there any tips you can give other writers as far as pulling in their reader?

Houston Havens: Deep POV… meaning you have to go into the head of your Point of View character and show and tell the readers what’s going on inside of him/her…aim for that exposure about every two sentences and in fact you’ll probably get an emotion out once or twice in a paragraph.

Anita Cox: Whose story are we going to see in Book 4 and have you picked a title? I’ll refrain from begging for a blurb as I know you’re still working on the book and that would be completely greedy of me.

Houston Havens: LOL – I can’t give you a blurb yet, but the title of book four is INTIMATE BETRAYAL. The story characters are Kindise, Jaden, and Sori…who the readers have met in the first three books.

Anita Cox: Okay, now the really good stuff. You’re going to be stranded on a desert island for a week with a hotty of your choice. Who do you take? (No, not your husband. We know he must be awesome to snag a model and author.)

HosutonHavensHouston Havens: LOL! Okay…so someone other than me hubby….I’d take Drakker from book one Sinful Surrender, or Nikias from book two Phantom Desire, or Faerydae from Expose Ecstasy…or Jaden from Intimate Betrayal.

Movie Star wise, Orlando Bloom, Brad Pitt, or Sean Connery!

Anita Cox: For one day, you can have whatever you want, regardless of dietary needs, allergies, fat to the thighs…like risk free anything for a day. What does Houston indulge in?

Houston Havens: I don’t indulge, but if I did, it would be Swiss & Brie cheese on crackers with mimosa!

Anita Cox: I’m interested to know what your favorite book was PRIOR to you becoming an author. Or, in the alternative, who was your favorite author?

Houston Havens: I LOVED Red October by Tom Clancy – Romance wise – I loved Johanna Lindsey

Anita Cox: Is that still your favorite? Why or why not?

Houston Havens: Yes…I love both those authors because they are awesome storytellers.

Anita Cox: Okay girl, I’ll let you get back to writing. Thank you for answering my insane questions. Please let my readers know where they can find you below:

Houston Havens: You can find me on my blog, Facebook, Twitter and the new Tsu.

Here are all of my links

Website: http://houstonhavensauthor.wix.com/houstonhavens

Blog: http://houstonhavens.wordpress.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HoustonHavens

Tsu:  https://www.tsu.co/HoustonHavens

Newsletter signup:http://wordpress.us3.list-manage2.com/subscribe?u=62596b320d3ea4fb2a2f476c9&id=7c4395ff3f

Facebook: www.facebook.com/HoustonHavens

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104340584560714468515/posts

Tumblr: http://houstonhavens.tumblr.com

Booklikes: http://authorhoustonhavens.booklikes.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/24819699-houston-havens

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/houstonhavens/

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuOpU6OsngnhTac_JvTLItQ

4 thoughts on “#Interview with @HoustonHavens

Leave a Reply

