#MyWritingProcess Blog Tour

 

MyWritingProcess

First, I want to thank Jenna Fox for inviting me to the #MyWritingProcess Blog Tour.

Stalk her here: Jenna FoxJ Fox Blog pic

A little about Jenna: Resides in the hills of Eastern Tennessee.  Spinner of dark tales weaved with erotic moments and mysterious alpha males.  Greatly inspired by the classics: Alfred Hitchcock, Ira Levin, and Stephen King to name a few.  Enjoys crafting stories with unexpected twists and shocking endings.

Indulges in an occasional glass of wine and consumes entirely too much caffeine.  Believes in ghosts and God and that chocolate soothes the savage beast.

Blog  Amazon Author page Twitter Facebook

My Writing Process

Okay the name of the game is My Writing Process and I have to answer the following:

1) What am I working on? A Lycan series. I started writing it as non-erotic fiction but I keep putting the heat in. So I figured, why the hell not. It’s new, so I don’t have many other details. I’m not into writing loglines before the story is done. That’s writer suicide.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? I don’t know how unique it is, but it definitely has the Anita flavor. I love writing in powerful women. I think nearly everything I’ve written has a strong female MC.  I think I’m heavily influenced by Kevin GreviouxDanny McBride, Kelly Armstrong and others in the genre.

3) Why do I write what I do? I simply don’t have a choice. I write what is in my head. Of course, I steer the story, but once I have the main idea in my head, that part of my brain sort of takes over. It’s out of my hands for the most part. I don’t stick to one genre in particular. My taste in literature is much like my taste in music – it’s ALL OVER THE DAMNED PLACE.

4) How does my writing process work? Oh it’s changed significantly over the past decade. I used to just fly by the seat of my thong. Now, I envision the characters, clip photos out of magazines that look close to what I want. I put a story board up (I recently purchased a huge whiteboard, but I used to use our picture window. The mail guy thought I was nuts.)

I literally write out a)who is the protagonist; b)what do they want; c)who is the antagonist; d) how are they/it keeping the protagonist from getting that. e)stakes

And then I sit down and …it’s sort of like a fever. I’ll write for 12-13 hours a day. I can type upward of 85 wpm so once I start, it doesn’t take long to reach: THE END.

Leave a Reply

